Lotti: Messa del quinto tuono View larger

Lotti: Messa del quinto tuono

SATB, (org). (Also called Missa quattuor vocum inaequalis or Missa Brevis in C).

More details

£ 4.00

Add to wishlist

More info

Sources: London, British Library; Venice, Procuratoria di San Marco; Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana.
Note values have been halved (except for the Benedictus, which is quartered) and the music maintained at original pitch. The mass is also known by the title Missa quattuor vocum inaequalis. (One of the problems with cataloguing Lotti's works is that the masses are rarely given descriptive or distinctive titles.) Cautionary and bracketed accidentals are editorial.
The mass is thought to have been written in 1700. The work exists in several sources, some of which are unaccompanied, and some of which contain an organ part. The Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana also holds a set of two cornet parts, though these are likely to have been written later.

None of Lotti's mass settings contains the words dona nobis pacem in the Agnus Dei. If required, the music may be sung a second time (or even a third) and the final words substituted in the place of miserere nobis.